Paris 16th arrondissement Victor Hugo
In 1825 during the Restoration the “Passy plain” was subdivided; the future Avenue Victor Hugo was created, bearing the name of Charles X, then King of France. After the July Revolution it became Avenue St Cloud until1864, and then Avenue Eylau until 1881. N° 14 was home to Guy de Maupassant until his death in 1893. At n° 124 was Victor Hugo’s house where he died on May 22, 1885. At n°6 a racecourse had existed since 1857. It was demolished 20 years later to allow the passage of rue de Sontay. St Honoré d'Eylau Church was built in 1855. To the north of the 16th arrondissement, the Victor Hugo neighborhood from the Bois de Boulogne to Place de l'Étoile boasts exceptional properties. Haussmannian buildings and also more recent residences boast superb top-floor apartments commanding views of the Eiffel Tower. In the heart of the avenue is the Ecole Supérieure de Gestion, more commonly known as the ISG. The prestigious Paris-Dauphine University is also in the neighborhood.