Sèvres

Sèvres

Nicknamed the city of ceramics, Sèvres is famous for its timeless ceramic and glass factories. The town was built on the stoneware of the workers, first of horticultural vocation, then workers with the factories. Thus, the architecture evolves and becomes more beautiful. The crystal factory of Sèvres makes it famous, thanks to Madame de Pompadour, its founder who brings a certain prestige to the city, making it evolve towards a more prestigious urbanization. It preserves its traces of royalty with the cellars of the king. Louis XIV, Madame de Pompadour's Brimborion. Many artists settled in this city, seduced by the white stone architecture, the stairs embraced by the trees. Because of its history, Sèvres is made up of many private mansions and prestigious properties that Paris Ouest Sotheby's International Realty offers you on our site.

When did this village, located on the Savara stream which flows into the Seine, dated from? It seems that in 560 already existed a church, and a few houses, where winegrowers and launderers established themselves over the centuries. The village becomes a tiny town, with inns and post houses, because it is located on the way from Paris to Versailles. From Sèvres, the materials intended for the construction of the Château de Versailles were unloaded and in 1684, the first bridge, spanning the Seine by l’Île Seguin, eases access to the cabs, stagecoaches and other carts.
Stairs and alleys run along both banks, many artists and politicians stay there. Diderot spent the last years of his life there, the house of Jardies successively became the home of Balzac, then Gambetta, who died there. Sisley lives there, Corot paints the bucolic "Chemin de Sèvres” there, making this city a place of artistic development.
In 1961, the old, insanitary village was renovated; in 1963, a new bridge, supporting the heavy traffic of the A10, was completed. Sèvres remains today a pleasant city, protected by the Seine, the Parc de Saint-Cloud, the forest of Meudon and that of Fausses-reposes. Served on both sides by large steep staircases (nearly 3000 steps in all), it has kept a good part of its architectural heritage and there are still very beautiful houses in millstone or brick, with majestic gardens.

Crystalware – Manufacture

In 1739, the renovation of the town began. At the instigation of Madame de Pompadour, who owns the neighboring residences of Bellevue and her "babiole" of Brimborion, removes the ceramic manufactory from Vincennes to Sèvres. The king, who regularly visits his mistress, becomes Lord of Sèvres; it was therefore under Louis XV that ceramic factories, painted canvas, the royal porcelain factory, the king's cellars and soon the Sèvres crystal developed.
In the early 19th century, Alexandre Brongniart, son of the architect, created the Museum of Ceramics, in the great hall of which was sealed, in 1920, the Treaty of Sèvres, ending the war between the allies and the Ottoman Empire, then in 1956, the Sèvres protocol in reaction to the nationalization of the Suez Canal by the Egyptian Nasser

Cristallerie de Sèvres: this production was born on the initiative of Madame de Pompadour in 1750, but was not highlighted until the reign of Charles X, taking a more important place, in particular by producing elements of the royal crown. This crystal works that continues to exist today, its prestige and its history make it unique and keeping alive the wishes of Madame de Pompadour.

When the workers from the Gaupillat capsule factory arrived, the first dwellings are born. Indeed, previously, Sèvres was only a large territory, useful for the development of vines and livestock farming; the large national forest of Meudon appealed to hunting lords.
Thus, it was around small wooden houses that munitions factories developed, before being taken over in 1939 by the French Munitions Society of Jules Gévelot. Besides that, Sèvres is appreciated for its taverns like the Golden Pheasant.

Beau-Site - Pommerets - Binelles

Maison Hetzel

City-Centre

The Town Hall: The town hall of Sèvres is no exception to the deep history that marks the city. On his land resided René Peyrat in 1630, owner of the Courchamp estate. Then, Pierre Monnerot, adviser to the king, acquired it in 1647 before finding himself forced to leave his property up for auction in 1661. It was at this time that the transmission of the land took place in the family of ‘Orleans. Almost 200 years later, the king sold this property to the municipal council, transforming the building into a town hall. Walking around the town hall, we now discover a building renovated in the 10s.

Maison Gravant

Croix-Bosset - Monesse

Maison des Jardies: It is at 14 rue du Chemin Vert that various personalities lived in an old vineyard property. In 1837, it was the author Honoré de Balzac who moved there, to flee the debts that awaited him in Paris; only its buffet is kept today. Then Léon Gambetta, with his girl friend, took up residence in the old winemaker's house where he died. Today, the house of Jardies, classified as a historic monument, constitutes a place of pilgrimage honoring the memory of this politician

Brancas

The wooden bridge, which threatens to collapse, was rebuilt between 1808 and 1820, the Saint Lazare-Versailles and then Montparnasse-Versailles lines crossed the small valley (1839 and 1840); a new bridge, a railway, and the Parisians therefore built sumptuous secondary residences. On the edge of the Parc de Saint-Cloud, the Villa Brancas subdivision, a private domain closed to non-residents, saw the flourishing of beautiful millstone villas from 1853.